top of page
  • Writer's pictureCraig Piburn

Argus shutter repair

Updated: Feb 10, 2019


Leaf shutter
Inside the Argus A2B.


One of the vintage rangefinders I purchased at an estate sale was a post war Argus A2B. This means the max shutter speed is 150 instead of 200. While inspecting the functionality I noticed the leaf shutter was slow to close and one of the aperture blades was incorrectly overlapping the next one. After a little internet research I was brave enough to start unscrewing things. After all, the camera wouldn't function correctly as is so nothing to lose. I used my flatbed scanner to documented the disassembly in order to reassemble everything correctly. I don't own a digital camera and the scanner worked great at capturing all the detail. I like the look of this image and will be experimenting with scanning more objects. The operation was a success and I'm looking forward to trying out this beautiful Art Deco rangefinder. Simple cameras like this are simple and fun to use. Just think, this camera was modern technology 70+ years ago! Now to find that vintage light meter...


A vintage Argus can be found for $20 or less. Even if you don't use them for their intended purpose, they look great on the shelf! Go get yourself one today and see what doors it opens for you!

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Flickr - White Circle
  • Coming soon!
  • LinkedIn - White Circle
bottom of page